DEV Community

Prr In The Code
Prr In The Code

Posted on

Thank you notes after interviews

Hey,

I see old school advice about sending thank you notes after the interviews, but does this mentality still apply in our industry? Is it proper and well seen, or annoying and too pushy? Has it ever given you the edge in the process? Or killed an opportunity?

What is the consensus about it? Let me know your opinion\story

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
molly profile image
Molly Struve (she/her)

I was always taught to send a thank you note so I always make sure to send a thank you/followup email following an interview. I think a thank you/followup can convey to the company you are interviewing with that you are genuinely interested in working for them. I know when I evaluate candidates, anyone that shows initiative and interest in our company always ranks higher in my eyes.