DEV Community

Cover image for #Week 2/14 : 100 Days of Code
random
random

Posted on • Updated on

#Week 2/14 : 100 Days of Code

Day 8

Today morning I had my Soft Computing examination. It was easy - only numerical problems related to fuzzy sets, relations etc.. I got briefed about my internship project. I have to complete 3 tasks within 3 months.

  1. Air Demand Analysis - covert a MATLAB model to a python ML model
  2. Reciprocating Compressor - predict component failure
  3. Power BI customisation - there's no desktop app for Mac :( I'll have to try installing it in a Virtual Machine

Day 9

Online classes started after a peaceful Christmas week. But its still a 1000x times better than offline classes.

I'm working on the Air Demand Analysis. I wanted to finish it today - but unfortunately things don't always go as per plan. I'm stuck at making LSTM Networks in Keras. I'll have to learn it in detail tomorrow to understand what's happening. I started doing my 10 days overdue soft computing assignment on Backpropagation networks - I didn't pay attention to the google classroom notification since it was Christmas hols.

Day 10

Submitted my way overdue backpropogation assignment. I found an awesome poster on GitHub which explains visually the data flow which happens in LSTM implemented using Keras.

I had my first interview with MLH for their Externship program. I really hope I can make it to one of their cohorts in 2021. I would love to work with other students on interesting tech. The interviewer was really friendly and I loved listening to her experiences in tech.

Finally removed all errors in the ML model. But guess what? Next bomb drops - Model doesn't learn.πŸ₯ΊπŸ₯ΊπŸ˜‚

Day 11

Happy New Year! A new beginning. I hope I can stay committed to my goals and improve myself a tiny bit every single day in 2021.

I started the year by solving another Backtracking problem - Rat in a Maze. I also did the #Leetcode daily challenge problem. It was about fitting small array pieces to form a single array.

I'm back at LSTMs and I understood that I'm making many fundamental flaws. I'm just so impatient about finishing the project!

Day 12

I implemented a crossword problem using backtracking. Accessing elements outside matrix will definitely lead to segmentation fault. The words to be filled in crossword were given by a semicolon separated list. Here's a clean piece of code to accept such inputs:

s="CALIFORNIA;NIGERIA;CANADA;TELAVIV"
stringstream ss(s);
vector<string> result;
while(ss.good()){
   string substr;
   getline(ss,substr,';');
   result.push_back(substr);
}
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Microprocessors assignment due tomorrow. I wrote a few 8051 programs. After 4 days of intense LSTM research, my models finally learns something even though there is a huge error. But I'm happy that it works at least syntactically. I need to work on:

  1. What's LeakyReLU? Is it needed.
  2. Have I factored in all the MATLAB training options into my model?

Day 13

Participated in my first ever Leetcode contest(Weekly Contest 222). Bad rank tbh 5810 / 6575. No..I thought I'd be able to solve at least 2/4 questions...ughh...Next time I'll do better.

I did 2 more application questions on sorting and searching. One question was really good - I had to look at hints to understand it was a binary search application. It was a relaxing Sunday.

Day 14

Wrote an analysis for yesterday's Leetcode contest. 2 more to do. Read a bit more of James Clear's Atomic Habits. Focus on systems rather than goals.

Finished off yesterday's Leetcode challenge - did backtracking for permutations. I have to find a better solution though but I'm happy I did it by myself. I completed today's challenge too - it was pretty simple - merging 2 sorted Linked Lists.

I started learning bitwise operators. They are a really powerful tool. I submitted my weekly LSTM progress - not a good model to be honest.
Screenshot 2021-01-05 at 8.47.00 AM

Take care,
@stratospher

Top comments (0)