DEV Community

Thanh Van
Thanh Van

Posted on

Coming back after break week

It's been a busy week for me since I still had some mid-term tests to do along with the new release of Telescope v2.8.0

Reviewing PRs

Once again, reviewing or just going through the PRs to see what is going on never goes wrong. Every single time, a piece of new stuffs (this is more than enough in my opinion) just keeps coming to my mind. Even I will not get all of them, but still knowing how things work is absolute amazing.

My email notification was almost blown up for a week because of this PR. Abdul always goes back and forth with fixing the PR and pushing the commits, but every times I take a look at this, there was only small changes every single time, mostly from the FrameHostnames. I really admire his patience because he is not currently a student in our course, but he still spends his time working on it.

Another feature was added to Docusaurus. i18n allows us to translate a document to different languages. We decided to translate the About page to 7 languages, see issue #2962. Luckily, the Vietnamese version of the About page is up for v2.8.0 release with a lot of modifications. The reason is because some words do not make any sense when translating to another languages, and I believe it will be the same to other languages. Following up with i18n, another PR by Amasia is also up for the translation functionality for user interface.

What I have for v2.8.0

Vietnamese version for the About page, which I think it will get other students' attention when contributing to Telescope if they are from my country. They will get a better sense what Telescope is about and why would we do this.

Add some extra padding for the content inside the build log terminal in Dashboard. This is not very big, just some css style to make the content be easier to read.

Set up Mermaid for Docusaurus. This feature will allow user to make a diagram inside the .md file, which would be easier to maintain in the future instead of putting the picture to the files. Another feature I also added to Docusaurus is adding sitemap, which will create sitemaps so the search engine crawlers can crawl our docs more accurately.

Final thoughts

I can see myself is more open right now, I communicate to people a lot, I know how to do the research whenever I am not able to know a certain thing. This course makes me become mature - mature in thoughts, communication, and how I approach to a problem. I also improve my skills using git, I do not realize how efficient I communicate with git, it's just the moment when I am done the work, I don't know that I get it done, it just happens so fast and I don't realize it. The more I practice, the better I will become ^^!

Top comments (0)