DEV Community

Jonathan Hall
Jonathan Hall

Posted on • Originally published at jhall.io on

How to learn DevOps

I was recently asked “How can I learn DevOps?”

This is a bit of a loaded question, if only because “DevOps” is a loaded term. I did my best to cut through that confusion, and provide a concise answer in my recent longer-form blog post here: How to learn DevOps.

But here’s the TL;DR;

Since DevOps really means “cooperation”, I’ll assume that you really meant to ask “What technologies should I learn to become a competent Operations engineer?”.

There are a ton of exciting technologies out there, and a certain amount of competition between products. I cannot tell you whether you should learn AWS, Azure, or Google Cloud, for example. They all do roughly the same thing. Which is “best” mostly depends on who is paying your salary (now, or in the future).

So here’s my general advice to anyone who’s interested in becoming proficient in the types of technologies used in modern Cloud operations environments, and in working with DevOps-minded teams:

Learn to write and deploy your own application.

It’s that simple. And it’s that complicated.


If you enjoyed this message, subscribe to The Daily Commit to get future messages to your inbox.

Top comments (0)