DEV Community

Tony Lee
Tony Lee

Posted on

Fav Editor : NEOVIM 🔥

Introduction

Hello 🖐

There are tons of text editors that are used for coding nowadays. Amongst those editors, my favourite editor is NeoVim.

How I ended up using NeoVim?


My Editor Journey

When I first joined College, I started off as Visual Studio User since I had to learn C/C++. (I was required to use it). Plus, I needed to take basic linux course, and that was when I was first introduced to VIM.

However, I could not understand at all why it was one of the most popular editor in the world. It was extremely difficult to get used to the keymaps(especially, h, j, k, l). Well... I could not even save and close the editor window.

Later, I installed Visual Studio Code when I began to take WEB course. I loved VS Code because I liked the light-feeling of VS Code. Also, it had so many extensions to help boost my productivity. Most importantly, I did not have to memorize all the keymaps!

About a year ago, I was killing the time on youtube. Suddenly, I found a clip that the author was developing using NeoVim. The clip was from Takuya:

It blew my mind!!! It looked so cool and I wanted to try it out. Since then, I am in love with NeoVIM 🔥


Dotfiles

I have uploaded my neovim config files on my github.
It is almost same as the neovim config of Takuya's. Nonetheless, if you would like to check out my config, here it is:

GitHub logo tonylee221b / dotfiles

Dark.Coder's Dotfile Github Repo

Dotfile for Black Coder

This is my dotfile for my NeoVim configurations







What is your fav editor?

  • Vim
  • Neovim
  • VS Code ...

What is your fav?

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
gr8arty profile image
Artyom

NeoVim one love! ♥