DEV Community

Cover image for There's Never Time To Code, So Start Now
Steven Z. Zhang
Steven Z. Zhang

Posted on

There's Never Time To Code, So Start Now

// The Problem
If you're like me, you probably have a lot of goals in life. I want to get good grades at university. I want to do more side projects to be more hireable. I want to be smarter than my friends. It seems impossible to be able to put all the work in. There's so much to do but not enough time to do it all. What's wrong with me?

// The Solution (?)
There's probably nothing wrong with you. If you were expecting a solution or a quick fix, I'm sorry. You've come to the wrong places. Like you, I'm just trying to work out life's problems as it happens. I could tell you the advice you've probably heard millions of times before.

  • Prioritize your work.
  • Wake up early.
  • Don't compare yourself to others.

// The Action
But knowing something is completely different than acting on it. So you should start acting on them. No matter how small the progress is. Take this blog post for example. I've been wanting to write something - anything - on dev.to for a year now. Its been sitting in my Google Tasks to-do-list, getting pushes deeper and deeper into my forgotten tasks by more urgent, or frankly just more interesting things to do.

But I'm writing this now. The quality is not great. The thought structure is all over the place. But hey, its something, right?

Stay tuned. There may (or may not) be more updates coming your way.

Sincerely,
Steven Z. Zhang
@zhast

Top comments (0)