DEV Community

Chris Cook
Chris Cook

Posted on • Updated on

Do you know about the Maker's Schedule?

A few years ago I came across an essay by Paul Graham, founder of Y Combinator, about the different working modes of programmers (i.e. makers) and managers. It came up again in a recent conversation I had, and I thought it might be interesting to share and discuss it here.

Maker's schedule, Manager's schedule

I think it sums up the reality pretty well, although there are some tasks or jobs where you have to switch from one mode to another. However, I definitely work best when I structure my day to meet at the very beginning or end, or even better, a single day a week.

What are your opinions on this? How can a Maker's Schedule be effectively implemented when working in a corporate environment?

Top comments (0)