DEV Community

acode123
acode123

Posted on

The bad side about WordPress

Image description
Is there something weird about the image above? Hint, look at the website's address, and then look at the CMS. I just copied my tech blog onto my computer, and we can do that to any website made from WordPress in the world.

You know the strange part? It's surprisingly easy to do so! I recently wrote an article about cloning dev.to, you can read it here.

Anyway, back to WordPress. You know why WordPress website's are that easy to clone? It's because of the fact that their source code is basically just lying around.

This isn't actually as concerning as it sounds, because it's technically illegal to copy someone else's work, it's called copyright.

Anyway, just beware that this is a key security factor, and as long as you're aware of it, it's perfectly alright to use WordPress.

New Edit: So far, there is 10 comments, and everyone is negative. I understand that you can only get the HTML, CSS and JavaScript. I just found out that I can clone a page of my personal blog. If it isn't something you worry about, then don't worry about it.

Top comments (12)

Collapse
 
petarm10 profile image
Petar • Edited

You cant copy WP query's, custom post types and all other stuff that exsist in WP Admin panel, so it's pointless to copy the look from WP site.. also look the WP Hierarchy, it's whole different approach to building web sites (Custom WP sites)

Collapse
 
acode123 profile image
acode123

I know about that, but your website's look and brand colors and all those sort of stuff is exposed. Well, I might not mind, but others might! :)

Collapse
 
acode123 profile image
acode123

I know Decker, but that's not the important part. What I am trying to say is that all your website's files are available online. With HTML, you can do incoding and minifying, with wordpress, you can also do it with a plugin!

I hope this explains it! And by the way, the links work for my website :)

Collapse
 
moopet profile image
Ben Sinclair

all your website's files are available online

Well, they might be if the owner puts them up on somewhere like GitHub. But that's absolutely not what you're seeing. In fact, you're probably seeing some generated HTML and some minimised javascript and CSS. Wordpress, the framework itself and your custom code, is all done in PHP, and you're not copying any of that.

Thread Thread
 
acode123 profile image
acode123

Copying them is illigal, so you're right about me not copying them. But you can view the source code. Everytime you view a website, the website sends your browser a copy of the websites code, that's just how it works! :) I hope that helps!

Collapse
 
acode123 profile image
acode123

Good point, and the first person with any kind of proof I am wrong!

 
acode123 profile image
acode123

More like an observation to say the least?

 
acode123 profile image
acode123

If your code isn't minified, pirates can view your website's source code. Some people might not like that.

Thread Thread
 
moopet profile image
Ben Sinclair

People who can view code can view code. Whether it's minimised or not has no bearing on whether they can view it or run it.

Thread Thread
 
acode123 profile image
acode123

It's harder to read a minified javascript file.

 
acode123 profile image
acode123

WordPress is a great CMS, I have nothing against that. I am just that random dude who found a bug in Wordpress. You can easily minify your whole wordpress website in a few clicks :)

Collapse
 
acode123 profile image
acode123

Okay, if everyone says I am wrong I am probibally wrong!