DEV Community

acode123
acode123

Posted on • Updated on

My New Portfolio!

Hey there.

I have been building my new portfolio for a week now and need insights into it to see how much progress I have made.

A review would be appreciated on the things that can be improved.

It's still in beta and your advice and feedback would be greatly appreciated :)

NOTE: The Portfolio section is still under construction
https://albertyao.framer.website/

Top comments (19)

Collapse
 
nlxdodge profile image
NLxDoDge

Some improvements from my point of view:

What does 90% React mean? (Or any of the skills to be honest).
Do you know 90% of the React library from the top of your head?
I learned this later as well after doing this in my portfolio, but it's better to just mention what you work with and where you have the most experience in. Percentages don't mean anything to a lot of people and can be interpreted in a lot of ways.

The form at the bottom has this?
Image description

One of the brand you work with has no name in the icon. So there is no way to know what company that is.

But other than that your site looks great :) never knew a tool like Framer could do this.

Collapse
 
acode123 profile image
acode123

Thanks for your feedback :) I just fixed the form and will take into account the other 2 advice you gave. I really appreciate your support.

Collapse
 
rawas_aditya profile image
Aditya Rawas

Some inputs

  1. Featured Projects shows blank, but there is hover within section so I clicked and saw feedback

Image description

  1. I think navigation bar should highlight which section are we looking at, like if I'm at Featured Projects then portfolio icon should be highlighted
  2. I don't see side nav -> nav item for pricing section
  3. In form subject seems broken I see subject only when I hover on it

Image description

Other than that its nice portfolio I have been looking for inspiration to create my own portfolio and I am going to have yours in my reference list, Thank you for sharing

Collapse
 
acode123 profile image
acode123

Glad to hear it :) My portfolio is completely still in beta, so features are not complete :)

Collapse
 
clovisdanielss profile image
Clóvis Daniel Souza Silva

Awesome, I like it.

There is a little bug when clicking on the images of your portfolio. After clicking the first time in one of the images, then closing the modal, when clicking in another image the modal will open on the first image.

Collapse
 
clovisdanielss profile image
Clóvis Daniel Souza Silva

Also, maybe you should describe the feature projects a little.

Collapse
 
acode123 profile image
acode123

I see, I'll fix that up ASAP.

Collapse
 
ayugup93 profile image
ayugup93

How much time it took to build this portfolio for you?

Collapse
 
acode123 profile image
acode123

A few days :)

Collapse
 
gavanwp profile image
Gavan Kumar

can you share me this source code pplease

Collapse
 
acode123 profile image
acode123

I built it using framer, this is my design
Framer

Collapse
 
cardoprimo profile image
DDKP

v nice, inspiring me to remake my own portfolio!
Just one thing: there are some wierd line breaks in the about me section (on mobile atleast)

Collapse
 
acode123 profile image
acode123

Thanks a lot for your advice, would look into it :)

Collapse
 
atinypixel profile image
Aziz Kaukawala

Looks sleek. Animations are beautiful too!
Keep it up bro!

Collapse
 
acode123 profile image
acode123

Thanks Aziz for your encouragement :) I really appreciate it.

Collapse
 
intellectgovi profile image
Govind Upadhyay

You can make these buttons unselectable.
It's minute but I think you can do these changes.

Image description

Collapse
 
hamchikan profile image
Hamchikan nirmaleswaran

It looks good.

Collapse
 
acode123 profile image
acode123

Thanks for the encouragement!

Collapse
 
miketalbot profile image
Mike Talbot ⭐ • Edited

Attractive animations. Cool design.

  • Typo in the word Developer (experience section).
  • 2017-2019 changes to 2013-2019 when you hover over it.
  • 2015-2017 becomes 2010-2013 when you hover over it.
  • The Toolbox project entry flickers, vanishes and reappears when I mouse over it in Chrome on a Mac.
  • Popup images on the project don't always select the right project, the screen scrolls behind the popup on mousewheel which looks wrong.