DEV Community

Cover image for New @ Hasura, Me!
Adron Hall
Adron Hall

Posted on

New @ Hasura, Me!

I would not assume you did know this dear reader, but I've joined the amazing team at Hasura! Over the last few years I've gotten back into a number of data oriented development efforts, often related to my own interest in database systems and web development. From this angle Hasura has a superb technology solution, a solid team - 👍🏻 founders @tanmaigo, @rajoshighosh leading the crew, and I'll introduce many of them to you all too in the coming weeks and months!

What is Hasura?

Hasura is a GraphQL API Server, that can be serverless via the Hasura Cloud, deployed to any cloud provider, or run locally on your own infrastructure. It is open source too, so you can dig in and checkout how things work via the Github repo.

First Steps @ Hasura

My first step when joining I put together a deployment around infrastructure as code and wrote a blog entry "Setup Postgres and a GraphQL API with Hasura on Azure" using Terraform. It's a fairly thorough post, albeit always open to critique, and will have a follow up real soon! Some of the next steps will include further data modeling, covering various relational database paradigms and how those map to Hasura, and lots of additional information. If there's something you'd like to see, or technologies you'd like to see me put together, do reach out to me @Adron and I'll see about getting some customized content put together!

Some of the first endeavors I've started tackling is coordinating new learning material around each of the features, capabilities, patterns, practices, and ideas behind GraphQL, development around and uses of GrahpQL, the Hasura product, and how all of these technologies fit together to make software development [pick awesome adjectives here: better, faster, etc] when one is working toward an idea!

See you deep in the code and data, science, data extraction, transformation, loading, and all the software development around it all! 🚀

References

For JavaScript, Go, Python, Terraform, and more infrastructure, infrastructure as code, web dev, data management, data science, data extraction, transformation, loading, and coding around all of this I stream regularly on Twitch at https://twitch.tv/adronhall, post the VOD's to YouTube along with entirely new tech and metal content at https://youtube.com/c/ThrashingCode. I'll be regularly participating in, scheduling, and adding content at Hasura's Twitch & YouTube Channels too, so follow and subscribe over there too.

For more blogging, I've got https://compositecode.blog and the Thrashing Code Newsletter, sign up for it here!

Top comments (0)