DEV Community

Cover image for Building a Rails Application
Ghameerah McCullers
Ghameerah McCullers

Posted on

Building a Rails Application

The Travelgram App was built using the Ruby on Rails framework and no scaffolding was used to build my project. This app was created with the intention to help travelers blog about their experiences.

Rails comes with scripts called generators that are designed to make your development life easier by creating everything that’s necessary for you. The generator I used was the new application generator. The new generator will provide you with the foundation of a fresh Rails application so that you don’t have to write it yourself.

To use this generator, I opened up my terminal, navigated to my project directory, and typed the following command:

$ rails new Travelgram
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Building a blog with comments using Ruby on Rails is a foundational exercise I went through to learn more about the framework. Ruby and Rails allowed me to generate a fairly simple MVC pattern built on top of a CRUD approach when working with dynamic data.

When building a Rails app I struggled a lot with routing. Most developers struggle with understanding routes like I did. A lot of the time it was simple syntax errors and not knowing what was being passed through to my views.

Understanding the routing process made it a lot easier for me to build successfully. Another key struggle was with styling and CSS. This was a personal issue for me not so much as a technical issue. I wanted my application to look a certain way so that my user could get a certain feel when interacting with my application.

Luckily the developer network is very useful in that if you need help you can find a useful resource. Rails has really great documentation (https://guides.rubyonrails.org/) for developers, so it makes the process really fun when you run into an issue.

Feel free to check out my application, I have linked my repository (https://github.com/ameerrah9/Travelgram)! Happy coding!

Top comments (0)