DEV Community

Bassem
Bassem

Posted on

Is programming considered some kind of art ?

Everyone heard it before, Jobs can be considered art. And i am not even talking about all the creative jobs out there. I mean the normal ones.

For example, customer service agent handling the customer and making him satisfied and happy.

This can also work for all jobs like doctors, sales, teachers and many more.

This is just something that came up in a book i was reading. I wanted to ask you guys...

Do you feel like this in programming?

Do you feel like someone is creating art while implementing an API or a Load balancer?

Do you feel like that particular snippet of server side code is beautiful?

Top comments (7)

Collapse
 
rhymes profile image
rhymes

If you create art with programming then what you create is art, otherwise I don't think so.

That doesn't mean it's not creative :-)

My favorite programmer/artist/data scientist is Jonathan Harris.

From his wikipedia page:

Jonathan Harris is an Internet artist and designer living in Brooklyn, New York. He has won three Webby Awards. Harris was honored as "Young Global Leader" by the World Economic Forum. His work has received coverage by CNN and BBC and has been exhibited in the Museum of Modern Art in New York and the Centre Pompidou in Paris. In his own words, his work aims to "explore and explain the human world". He studied computer science at Princeton University. Some of his noted works are the Yahoo Time Capsule which attempted to create a digital finger print of the world in 2006, I Want You To Want Me, the Sputnik Observatory, Universe, the Whale Hunt, and anonymous question/answer service Justcurio.us.

To me he's the embodiment of an artist that uses software development to say something.

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

I’ve done other types of more classical art in the past, and much of what I do seems to be drawing on the same part of my brain.

I think if you come from art, and treat programming like art, it’s art.

But just like any other medium, some is artful, some might not be. Scribbling on paper may or may not be art. Depends on context and approach.

Collapse
 
tux0r profile image
tux0r

Programming in Piet is required to be art.

Collapse
 
bassemibrahim profile image
Bassem

Looks interesting, wonder what will happen if we compiled like the monalisa πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

Collapse
 
tux0r profile image
tux0r

You can try it. :-)

Collapse
 
alchermd profile image
John Alcher

I mean, anyone and their dogs want to classify their craft as art, so I really don't know... but yeah, I do find clean code as beautiful.

Collapse
 
bassemibrahim profile image
Bassem

Well yeah i agree, clean code makes me feel peaceful πŸ˜‚πŸ‘