DEV Community

Mitz
Mitz

Posted on

Rethink Scrum from a Japanese cultural perspective #RSGT2021

I joined Regional Scrum Gathering Tokyo 2021 held on 6-8 Jan.

https://2021.scrumgatheringtokyo.org/

It was an amazing event, organized as a mixed style of online and onsite this year. I enjoyed it a lot from the online. I watched many interesting sessions. Even after the event, we gathered on Discord to watch the recorded videos and have a talk.

At the event, I talked about rethinking Scrum from a Japanese cultural perspective.

I have been working for Rakuten, Inc. for more than 10 years introducing Scrum to many teams. Last year, I was supporting a guy from oversea who joined the company at that time, he asked many questions to me and we talked a lot everyday.

Answering his questions, I gradually understood his idea. It was totally different way of thinking for me. At the same time, I also understood how I think based on the Japanese culture.

From that experience, I found the Japanese people may have a different perspective for Scrum. That's why I had this talk.

In the session, I talked about

  1. Does Scrum look the same from Japanese culture and another culture?
  2. Why is it so challenging to adopt Scrum in Japan?
  3. Rethink Scrum

I'm glad if you enjoy my session video. I hope to join it onsite next year :)

Top comments (0)