DEV Community

Bernard Bado
Bernard Bado

Posted on • Originally published at Medium on

I Turned ChatGPT Into Monthly Recurring Revenue

Woman suprised by the fact that I turned Chat GPT into MRR

ChatGPT is great! There is no doubt about that.

But what’s even better is passive income.

Combine these 2 bad boys together and you have a killer combination.

This is exactly what I did. And today, I’ll explain:

  • What I did do to turn ChatGPT into MRR
  • How I did it

And if you’ll stick around till the end, I’ll tell you how to do the same thing.

Using ChatGPT to Build My Own Product

Long story short, I built a web-based text editor that is powered by ChatGPT.

You can see how it works by looking at the video below.

Monkey Writer Showcase

AI chat on the left is monitoring what you’re writing.

  • You can ask it a question.
  • You can tell it to do something.
  • It always takes into account what you’ve already written.

The way I’m making money out of this product is by charging a monthly subscription fee.

The amount varies based on the plan that the user picks.

Monkey Writer Pricing

That’s all there is to it.

In the next section, we’ll go more into technical depth.

We'll see how ChatGPT can be integrated into pretty much anything.

How The Magic Behind This Works

All you need is access to OpenAI API.

Then, you'll do this:

  • Create an account
  • Request access to API

No need to worry, they give access to pretty much anyone.

To explain what the Chat GPT API is, I crafted this masterpiece of a diagram.

How Chat GPT API works

The upper flow is how the majority of people are using ChatGPT.

The bottom flow is how you can turn Chat GPT into passive income.

Build Your Own Product With ChatGPT

The only missing piece is to build something that you can integrate ChatGPT into.

This can be:

  • Website
  • Mobile app
  • Desktop app
  • Any other software type

If you know how to code you can do the same thing I did, and build a product yourself.

If you don’t know how to code, you have following options.

Option 1: Hire

The best option for someone who has plenty of capital hidden under the mattress. Or in a bank for that matter.

To hire good talent, I’d highly recommend Upwork. After all, that’s where I started my freelancing career.

Option 2: Partner Up

If you don’t have a lot of money lying around, you can still outsource development work.

You can do this by partnering up with developers on Indie Hackers.

Indie Hackers

The important thing to note here is that you need to bring something to the table.

Maybe you’re good at marketing, maybe you’re a designer, maybe you’re a killer at sales. Whatever it is, identify it, and mention it so people are interested in partnering up with you.

Option 3: Learn

If you don’t have the money or any other asset, you still have the last option.

You can learn to code and build the thing yourself.

Final Thought

Starting to chase monthly recurring revenue was one of the smartest business decisions I have ever made.

In this story, I shared the secrets I've gathered.

So, what are you waiting for? Take action now and start building your own product.

Trust me, it’s worth it!

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
spoonglass123 profile image
G

Hi Bernard, I am working for a small family run consultancy company in Indonesia. I was tasked with finding solutions to incorporate the capabilities of GPT into the business. While reading your story on medium I realized it is almost an perfect example of what they want. In simple terms: 'A 'chatbot' which answers a limited amount of questions for free and if the clients want to ask more they need to pay a membership fee'

We have already established the 'role prompts' and intensively tested those on ChatGPT and the playground as well until satisfaction.

Would you be interested in working with us?
If you would like to have a quick e-call to discuss in detail feel free to contact us on info@thepermithouse.com or g.c.winters@thepermithouse.com.

Thank you for considering,

Georg