DEV Community

Cover image for 8 Git command to help you get started πŸ’»
kapeel kokane
kapeel kokane

Posted on

8 Git command to help you get started πŸ’»

Two weeks back, I wrote an article about a relatively advanced git command that could save your life some day & it blew up way larger than expected!

That article made me the top writer for the topic git for that week.

This time around, I thought I should write something for the ones just getting started with git, the first time git users. What I can recall from my experience, it was quite daunting to me to work on my first git repo. I was confused with so many confusing terminologies being thrown at my face like: origin, master, head etc and I did not know what to make of it.

If you are at that stage in your git journey where you just got started and want to understand what is actually happening when you run a git command, here is an animated video tutorial that I created which will come in handy for you.

Hope that this video is able to create some of your confusions related to the topic and help you become more confident. Feel free to discuss in the comments section.

Also, If you are one of those people who does not mind seeing this kind of info in your Instagram feed which would help you learn while browsing social media, then consider following the handle I maintain on Instagram.

Hope that helped, Cheers!

Top comments (0)