DEV Community

Jamees Bedford
Jamees Bedford

Posted on

What's the one thing you wished you were better at?

What is the one thing (technical or non-technical) you wished you were better at?

For me:

I would love the ability to pick up technical concepts from books. I just can't work like that even though I would love to be able to.

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
joshransley profile image
Josh Ransley • Edited

I would find it useful to remember more of the names for things than I do. Often I can implement something and may have done so many times before without knowing its name, or that it had one.

Which can become an issue when talking to colleagues or other developers, or as I experienced last year, during job interviews. Where it was only after the interview that I Googled a phrase and realised that I did in fact know how to do thing X, I just didn't know it had a name.

But I guess, generally, being able to do something is more important than remebering what it's called.

Collapse
 
buphmin profile image
buphmin

Hah! I had this happen a number of times. Especially when self trained a lot of the official terms slip through.

Collapse
 
buphmin profile image
buphmin

For me being more detail oriented (without losing the other things I am good at). My mind has a tendency to go all over the place so it can be easy for me to miss some things, especially in an unstructured environment.

That same trait though makes it easy for me to pick up new things and adjust quickly. You can't have it all I guess.

Collapse
 
jsalinas11 profile image
Jordan

I wish I was better at focusing. I really can't remember the last time I got into a deep flow state. I constantly have irrelevant thoughts pulling my attention away while coding.