DEV Community

Jamees Bedford
Jamees Bedford

Posted on

What Job Would you Want To Be Doing if You Weren’t Coding?

If coding didn’t exist, what would you want to be doing?

For me, I think it would need to be something that allowed me to flex my creativity. Maybe marketing or copywriting.

What about you? 🙂

Top comments (8)

Collapse
 
antjanus profile image
Antonin J. (they/them)

What would I want to be doing? I'd love to be a professional published (fiction) author in whatever shape that takes. Whether it's being a novelist, a serial writer, a show writer, etc. doesn't matter, I'd love to do it.

And honestly, if I could really choose and be fine financially, I'd like to be indie

Collapse
 
alexcooperdev profile image
Alex Cooper

For a while in high school, since I was a massive Band Geek, I really wanted to arrange music for concert and marching bands. I studied Music Theory in college for a bit, before realizing that I would have a very hard time finding a job in that field.

I also started writing a play/musical or two, and never finished anything. I'd like to think that I'd be doing something like that right about now.

Collapse
 
panditapan profile image
Pandita

drawing and coloring comics or doing market investigation and analysis :D

Collapse
 
oseifrimpong profile image
Obed Osei Frimpong

I always had a dream of becoming a pilot until I found software engineering.

Collapse
 
lloydfranklinsmith profile image
Lloyd Franklin Smith

Forrest Ranger

Collapse
 
juanfrank77 profile image
Juan F Gonzalez

I'd be working in marketing and copywriting, those are cool.

Collapse
 
djpandab profile image
Stephen Smith

Probably DJing and collecting music.

Collapse
 
hwolfe71 profile image
Herb Wolfe

I would probably be doing something like astrophysics or engineering, either mechanical or electrical, or possibly paleontology, although I struggled with geology, eventually dropping it.