DEV Community

Cover image for Basic Developer Path
Chris Bongers
Chris Bongers

Posted on • Originally published at daily-dev-tips.com

Basic Developer Path

Today I want to make a slightly different approach; I see many new aspiring developers struggle with the same question: How do I become a good developer?

They ask what languages they should learn. When should they learn what? And how fast it will go.

There is not a one size fits all, but I hope to give my 10 cents about this topic.

Basic development path

My recommendation for a path to follow would be the following:

  • HTML
  • CSS
  • Vanilla JavaScript
  • Now Stop learning and start creating
  • SASS
  • Advance JS -> React/Angular/Vue/Whatever is hip

So my main thing is, don't overdo yourself. When learning to become a developer, it's so essential your basis is perfect!

You can be a React Star, and that's perfect, but if you don't understand HTML, you will have such a disadvantage.

Must I become a front & back-end developer?

That is one question I've seen many times, and it's tough to answer. It depends on what makes you happy. I started as a front-end developer; I had no clue what back-end meant and didn't like it. Nowadays, I'm considered a full-stack developer, but I like the back-end part way more.
I found it to come naturally to me.

So, How do I become a good developer?

The main tip here is: "Start developing things!". Yes, easy said, but ok, let's say you only know HTML/CSS. You can build basic websites. Take a website you like and rebuild it!
Now at one stage, you know JavaScript, find yourself a challenging subject, and again recreate it.

Even better, invent your project. Find something that inspires you like movies/sports/animals and create an interactive web experience with that.

Ask away

I love to help aspiring developers complete their goals.
Let me know in the comments or on the socials what your questions are, and I will try my best to answer them!

Thank you for reading, and let's connect!

Thank you for reading my blog. Feel free to subscribe to my email newsletter and connect on Facebook or Twitter

Top comments (0)