DEV Community

Cover image for Day 212 : Better Than I Imagined
HIPHOP and CODE
HIPHOP and CODE

Posted on

Day 212 : Better Than I Imagined

liner notes:

  • Saturday : Had a really good day. Don't remember much about it haha But I do know I had a radio show and that makes it a good day. The recording of this week's show is at https://kNOwBETTERHIPHOP.com

Radio show episode image with logos from Discogs and Bandcamp with the words Sep 5th 2020 and Dew Doo Ice Cream Man

  • Sunday : Camped out in my van outside my parents' place because I was getting some packages delivered there. Spent the day, cleaning up my van and doing laundry. Did some coding. Pretty chill day.

  • Monday : Was Labor Day so of course I did some labor. haha Basically working on my side project. Started working on the front end. Learned about using Structured Queries with the Firestore REST API! Blew my mind when I got it working the way I wanted. It was super quick as well. My side project should load quickly on almost any connection. Since I'm using Sapper/Svelte for the front end, I played around with some animations that happen between navigating some pages. Came out pretty cool. Actually better than I imagined.

  • Professional : Had some meetings today. Got to see a presentation on GitHub Actions. Had a co-worker look over some React code I wrote for a blog post just to make sure it made sense. Been a minute since I wrote some real React, especially using Hooks. He said it looked good. Awesome. Basically spent the rest of the day working on this blog post. The more I do, it seems like there's more I need to explain. haha.

  • Personal : Yesterday helped my folks unload some stuff from a trailer so that they could move some stuff out of the old house's garage. But yeah, again, the Structured Query stuff is pretty cool. Before learning about it, I would have to create a function that did the query on the database and then use that as my endpoint I would call from the front end. Now, I can just query directly! I don't have to wait (even though, it has been pretty quick) for the function to fire up, query Firestore and then return the results. I think this new front end is going to be a lot faster than what I made previously.

The face of a mountain in Val Gardena, Italy at sunset

Going to work on the blog post I've been slacking on. haha I just need to sit down and focus for a couple of hours and fill out the outline and compile my notes. Before that though, I want to get a link on the front end of the side project to change depending on if the user navigated to the page directly or came from another page on the site.

Have a great night!

peace piece
Dwane / conshus
https://dwane.io / https://HIPHOPandCODE.com

Top comments (0)