DEV Community

Cover image for Day 270: Application
HIPHOP and CODE
HIPHOP and CODE

Posted on

Day 270: Application

liner notes:

  • Professional : Had a couple of meetings. Got to show a new demo application I made this week. Rest of the day, basically trying to figure out how to get React Native to run properly on my work laptop. Ran a command on their website, looks like it almost went through, but got a weird error. Said something about cocopods dependencies and to run a command. Got an even more cryptic error message. Looked it up, kind of got a solution. Didn't work. Figured I would install XCode and see what happens. Went to the Mac App store to download it, would just cancel before even trying. Great. Went to download the beta version from the developer's portal. Why is the file 11GB!!!!! That took a while to download. Was told not to install the beta great. They said maybe I needed to update. Fine, did that. Still the app would not try to download from the store. Tried turning off my work's VPN. Then it started to download, awesome. Now I got a new error. It's says I need at least MacOs version 10.15. I was on 10.14. The newest version is 11, but that doesn't play nice with the software we have on the work computer. I could not find where I could get version 10.15.0 I would download updates for 10.15.7 and others, it would say I needed 10.15. Cool. Went to the Apple support page, clicked on the link for 10.15, it went to version 11. Wonderful. I had to watch a video on YouTube about upgrading to 10.15 and copy the URL from the browser the person was using into my own browser. haha. That opened the link to the version 10.15 in the MacOS App Store. Finally! I started the download. Again. It. Took. Forever! With that installed, I was able to install XCode. Ran the command line for a React Native project again.... got a new error this time. WooHoo! Looked it up. Apparently there is a command I need to run to get the Command Line Tools. Ran that, took forever to download. Of course. Got another error. Looked it up. Had to run another command that I think set the path to something. After that, finally got no errors! I was basically done for the day. haha

  • Personal : Last night, worked on the demo application I got to show today. Then it got pretty dark and chilly. My brain pretty much shut down and I went to sleep. haha.

The clouds above Above Žalý, Czechia at sunset.

Going to spend the night working on the radio show for tomorrow. After that, I'm going to watch more "Legion". Want to finish the series as soon as possible.

Have a great night and weekend!

peace piece
Dwane / conshus
https://dwane.io / https://HIPHOPandCODE.com

Top comments (0)