DEV Community

Enchanting121
Enchanting121

Posted on

Why did I choose software engineering ?

It’s been a while since I was able to sit in front of my laptop and just code. I chose this career field over 15 years ago back in 6th grade when my teacher Ms. Matthews had introduced me into Mouse Squad and showed me the ins and outs is some of the first generation MacBooks. She introduced me to a program called Scratch and from that moment forward I was HOOKED.

I continued into high school / vocational school for computer science and it all just came to me naturally. Unfortunately even tho it came to me naturally I wanted to try to pursue a career in Psychology when I got accepted in college, and Boy was I wrong in changing fields.
Don’t get me wrong I love Psychology but I missed Coding/Programming so much that I decided to switch majors, that’s when I got into CUNY Hunter College.

Now everything was going perfect! I was learning Python and was on the road to getting my BA in Computer Science. But others plans less that astray.

Now after 3 years out of college, I am trying my hand again at completing this goal of mine and finally becoming a Software Engineer.

I will get through Flatiron School and find my dream job!

First Mile Down. Rest of the program here I come!

Top comments (0)