DEV Community

Gennaro Di Fiandra
Gennaro Di Fiandra

Posted on • Updated on

Learn HTML and CSS by following a path of free high-quality resources

If you want to learn HTML and CSS you can do it with free resources. The web is full of free high-quality resources; the problem for a beginner is having a path. So I distilled the best free resources I know and I have added context to create a path with them.

The best overall resource I know is web.dev guides by Google:

  1. Learn HTML
  2. Learn CSS
  3. Learn Responsive Design

Studying these three guides will give you the foundation of your knowledge. Maybe, you can warm up your brain by reading these all-in-one articles:

  1. A Blog Post With Every HTML Element by @patrickweaver
  2. A Complete Guide to CSS Concepts and Fundamentals by @taniarascia

This is the first step. The next one is writing code. There are some videos that you can follow along:

  1. HTML & CSS Full Course (2024) by @bytegradcom
  2. HTML / CSS Tutorial – Create an Order Summary Component by Madision Kanna
  3. Learn HTML & CSS – Full Course for Beginners by @perborgen
  4. CSS Tutorial – Full Course for Beginners by Dave Gray

These videos are very long; I suggest you follow one or two before moving on to the third step.

Practice

If you think that the second step is where you practice, you are wrong. Practice means something else.

Practice means:

  1. find a web page you like
  2. recreate it using your knowledge
  3. if you get stuck at some point, use Google search to find a solution
  4. if you can't find a solution, then ask to Claude.ai or ChatGPT.com
  5. if you are still stuck, ask for help in a community (for example Stack Overflow)

Iterate these steps web page by web page, changing the type each time (you can recreate pages from a corporate website, then others from an ecommerce website and so on).

Avoid falling into the Tutorials Hell

Many developers, myself included, fall into the Tutorials Hell.

Watching a video and following the teacher will not make you a developer, because it will not teach you how to think like a developer.

You have to develop projects on your own to build a developer mental model and learn how to solve coding problems. If at the beginning, when you get stuck, you think that you don't have enough knowledge, so it's best to follow new tutorials, please don't do that. Go ahead building your project.

Continuous Learning

As you develop projects on your own, you should continue to learn new concepts as well as deepen the ones you already know.

There are two resources that I think are the best for this purpose:

  1. Kevin Powell Videos
  2. Ahmad Shadeed Articles

Kevin and Ahmad are CSS experts and are great to teach. You should learn from at least one of them.

Following, I list additional high-quality resources from which you can get value.

First, web.dev has also:

Google Search Results

Like I said, when I get stuck, I use Google search in the early stage to find a solution. I don't always click on the first result; I look for specific sources on a case-by-case basis:

  • if I need a solution to a specific problem, I look for results from Stack Overflow
  • if I need to remember something, I look for results from W3Schools
  • if I need to deeply investigate something, I look for results from MDN
  • an alternative to W3Schools and MDN that I like is the Almanac section on CSS Tricks

Responsive Images

Forms

SVG

CSS Fundamentals

CSS Flex and Grid

Creativity

The following two YouTube channels are great for learning how to create creative components with CSS:

while these articles are for general CSS animations:

Custom Emails

Custom email development is a tricky task because email clients aren't as good as browsers. If you need to learn this skill, the following are great resources:

References and Examples

A reference is like a glossary. Earlier I have mentioned Almanac of CSS Tricks. Here are other useful ones:

The following give you examples both on good and bad HTML code:

News

Test Yourself

There are web apps that you can use to test yourself solving exercises. For example:

Recap

If you want to learn HTML and CSS:

  1. Build the foundation of your knowledge using Google guides
  2. Write code following other developers using YouTube videos
  3. Develop projects on your own

Then, keep learning using other resources that I have listed finding the ones that work best for you: maybe, you prefer written content over videos or an explanation style over another one.

Before You Go

  • if you find this guide helpful, please share it so that I can put effort to create new ones
  • if you find this guide very helpful, please donate (only) one dollar to me by PayPal so that I can put more effort to create new ones

Top comments (0)