DEV Community

Cover image for Here's To The Journey
Elias Robert Hakim
Elias Robert Hakim

Posted on

Here's To The Journey

Henry David Thoreau once said "The path of least resistance leads to crooked rivers and crooked men" and similar sentiments were floating in my head as I kicked up my feet after another thoughtless month of work documenting construction projects.

Bonneville Shoreline Trail, SLC

Much like 16th century French monarch, Lord Montaigne suggested; my mind stewed in the 'vague field of imagination'... yearning for a 'definite subject to bridle' my mind with.

Moonstone Beach, California in the fog

Enter coding. I have had an on-and-off relationship with basic tutorials in javascript and ruby. While I always enjoyed learning about them, I never found the time to properly commit myself to the time and energy required to learn them beyond a very basic level.

skin track on Mt. Tuscarora, Utah

The economic uncertainty in 2020, mixed with the timing of my biggest projects at work coming to a close blended with little work on the horizon created a volatile concoction ready for a spark. That combustion came in the form of an opportunity to spend more time with family, and finally get serious about pursuing coding. So I left what had been an easy and stable job to pack it all up and start over. Again. So it goes.

a rock climber watching the sunrise from the top of a cliff after getting stuck out overnight

One month later, I have found myself wrapping up my first two weeks at the Flatiron School. It has been a challenge, but I know the hardest part was deciding to make a change. The famed jazz trumpet player Miles Davis boldly told his bandmates: "Do not fear mistakes. There are none." as he pushed the boundaries of jazz; setting the standard for the shape of jazz to come.

In the past two weeks I have worked harder than I have in years, and it feels good. It feels good to keep walking after the difficult first step. As I continue to grind my way through the curriculum, I know that once I stop myself to turn and look back to were I started, I will be surprised to see how far I have traveled. And that, I am looking forward to!

sunset over snowy mountains on the Olympic Penninsula

So here is to the journey!

a man watches the sunset on a ferry on the puget sound

Top comments (0)