DEV Community

Cover image for New beginnings
hariseldon27
hariseldon27

Posted on

New beginnings

Twilight on the start of the next chapter

It's 8:50pm on Sunday January 9th, 2022. Tomorrow I am starting the Flatiron full time 15-week Software Engineering intensive program. I'm both excited and nervous - as one would expect. I'm genuinely excited to be diving in and learning some new languages. I think what I'm most excited about is the chance to put some of the more academic logic that I've learned to work in a formal programming setting. That is very very appealing to me. Abstraction has always sort of been my thing any way...

Humble Beginnings

It's weird to think that I've literally been around computers for as long as I can remember. Before it was normal to have a computer in your room, I had a huge hulking box humming away in the corner of my childhood bedroom. We flirted with 386's and 486's as kiddos, and by the time I was in high school it was Pentium's and the sinking too much money into video cards. It feels like a shocking oversight that I haven't seriously tried to get into tech previously.

Honest Goals

Since I really don't know what to expect out of the coming weeks and months I can't really set any specific goals, but I do want to be true to my career thus far: to keep exploring storytelling through new media; to be professional and expect the best of your colleagues; and to create space in projects to hold up the unique experiences of my collaborators.

Here we go

It's been a sort of wacky few years, with lots of false starts. I truly hope that this isn't another one.

Top comments (0)