DEV Community

Cover image for How to get inspirational ideas for your school project as a beginner
Mark Brian
Mark Brian

Posted on • Updated on

How to get inspirational ideas for your school project as a beginner

This should guide you to get inspiration for your project from my own experience and research and I hope you'll find it beneficial.

I also found myself pondering over what to do for my Phase 1 project at Moringa School. To mark the end of Phase 1, we knew that a project was around the corner to test us on the skills we've learnt and to reinforce the content we grasped during the Phase 1 period. It might seem like the time is moving fast especially considering you might be in a Software Engineering 6 month bootcamp like me. Don't worry, I've learnt that similar to music, coding is an art which takes a lot of practice for one to get closer to perfection. You might find yourself in the same situation, trying to think of a creative idea for a website which will implement all that you've learnt and allow you to score high marks. Out of my personal experience, I found my mind to be blank at first but after some personal reflection, an idea popped up in my mind. In my case, I challenged myself to create the Kenyan WeChat which would act as an all-round website for executing different tasks. I had everything planned out and started drawing inspiration from the internet, for example, the layout of the website and the preferred theme. Don't worry it's never a bed of roses. I knew that there were many challenges to come and prepared myself to overcome them mentally and technically. All in all, I never deterred from my original idea and I would advise you to do the same. With a rock-solid foundation and concept, you'll get plenty of time to write the code and polish it up. Eventually, after about 20 hours of hard work (Of course not consecutive hours), I finally submitted My Project which I'm proud of for grading. To digress from my opinion which might be biased, here is a summary of how to draw inspiration for school projects as obtained from online sources:

  1. Capture Inspiration: Use an idea book or vision board to organize visuals and ideas for future creative use.

  2. Engage in Creative Tasks: Doodling, free-writing, or other low-effort creative activities can stimulate insights.

  3. Establish Consistency: Maintain a daily routine to focus and generate ideas consistently.

  4. Learn Continuously: Acquire new skills and knowledge to gain fresh perspectives and ideas.

  5. Change Environment: Alter surroundings to stimulate new thoughts and creativity.

  6. Allow Mind Wandering: Engage in relaxed activities like knitting or meditation to spark creativity.

  7. Prioritize Rest: Take time for peaceful activities to recharge and foster creativity.

  8. Connect with Peers: Network with other artists to gain new perspectives and ideas.

  9. Manage Tasks Efficiently: Streamline or outsource tasks to free up time for creative pursuits.

  10. Explore Journaling: Write daily to uncover insights and generate ideas.

  11. Initiate Projects: Start projects to build momentum and find inspiration through progress.

  12. Optimize Living Space: Rearrange your home to create an inspiring environment.

  13. Discover New Music: Listen to different genres to ignite creativity.

  14. Visit Museums: Engage with art and culture to inspire new creative ideas.

  15. Experiment Creatively: Try new activities or challenges to stimulate innovative thinking.

  16. Learn from Role Models: Study inspirational figures to learn from their creative processes.

  17. Practice Mindfulness: Meditate or observe mindfully to enhance awareness and creativity.

  18. Curate Inspiration: Collect quotes and ideas that motivate and spark creativity.

  19. Revisit Childhood Joy: Rediscover hobbies from childhood to reconnect with creative roots.

  20. Visualize Future Success: Write press releases or plan projects to stay motivated and focused.

  21. Share Knowledge: Teach others to deepen understanding and inspire new ideas.

  22. Embrace Positive Attitude: Cultivate positivity and reduce self-criticism to create a fertile ground for inspiration.

These strategies aim to create a dynamic environment where creativity can flourish, enabling continuous growth and innovation.

Sources
How to go about collecting inspiration for a creative or design project
How to find inspiration for your next project?
17 Ways to find inspiration and spark creativity
15 Ways to get inspired

Mark Brian
Aspiring Software Engineer
Github
Instagram

Top comments (0)