DEV Community

Cover image for Is unreal the magic that you can build in the Tech Industry
Andres Haro
Andres Haro

Posted on

Is unreal the magic that you can build in the Tech Industry

✨ I am a passionate DevOps & Automation Engineer, with a never-ending drive to learn new skills. I love helping end-users to find the right solution for their needs in Software, Design, and Automation. I have multiple skills that help me leverage my experience like DevOps, Automation, UX Development, Mobile App Development, & Web and App Design. ✨

How I started to work in the tech industry?

I began my career in tech support at Instructure, a software company known for their educational system app "Canvas". In this role, I assisted teachers, students, and administrators with resolving their technical issues. This experience allowed me to gain expertise in API's, manual testing, and automation testing, which eventually led to my promotion as a Software QA Engineer.

During this time, I decided to take on multiple companies simultaneously, which provided me with the opportunity to further develop my skills in automation testing while interning as a Software Engineer at Utah Valley University. This experience enabled me to expand my knowledge base in HTML, CSS, JavaScript, Python, Postgres, Cypress, Selenium, and more.

By working in both roles, I gained valuable insight into the software and technology industry. This motivated me to explore other areas of interest, leading me to pursue DevOps and Cybersecurity roles. I am determined to continue learning and expanding my knowledge to contribute to other departments and understand the full software development cycle.

What is my next goal?

As a Security Engineer, I believe it would be valuable to expand my knowledge in the field of Data Engineering. Understanding how my current skillset can be applied to the data world can help me develop a more comprehensive understanding of the industry and further enhance my abilities.

In addition, I have been dedicating my free time to learning how to build mobile apps with Android and Flutter. This endeavor allows me to broaden my skillset and explore new technologies that have the potential to complement my current expertise.

What else do I do?

I have a passion for mentoring others on topics that I encounter in my daily life. To pursue this interest, I am actively involved in Google Developers Groups where I conduct events and workshops to share my knowledge with others.

Additionally, I am a teacher at Nucamp, a coding bootcamp. This provides me with the opportunity to impart my skills and experience to a new generation of developers. I find immense satisfaction in helping individuals gain the necessary skills and knowledge to achieve their goals in the tech industry.

How people can get started in the tech industry?

Support

If you ever need some help, feel free to reach out to me at anytime and I will be more than happy to help.

Top comments (0)