DEV Community

Isaac Gonzalez
Isaac Gonzalez

Posted on • Updated on

An RoR Final Project: A news website from scratch.

I enrolled in an online school for Software Developers early this Year, and I expect to graduate in late 2020. For this program, we are working with HTML/CSS, Ruby, Ruby on Rails, JS, and React.

Currently, I'm finishing the RoR track and I'm about to start the second half of the program in about a week.

For this project, I had to create from scratch a news website about any topics and only using LifeStyle Magazine by Nelson Sakwa as inspiration for the design.

Only for the front page articles and list, everything else as widgets or mobile responsiveness is not required.

I only had 5 days to finish the code including all rspec and capybara testings. Also, I had to submit a video presentation talking about the features I build and the challenges.

RoR Final Project

I created a news website about video games for the final project of my ruby on rails Track.

Features

  • You can create a new account using only a user name.
  • You can log in with any account using the user name.
  • As a user, you can create an article with a title, text, available category, and image.
  • As a user, you can like (vote) for an article.
  • The articles with more likes (votes) will be displayed at the frontpage, the larger picture will be available for the article with the most likes.
  • The articles row will display up to 4 categories and the latest article created, also it will be ordered based on priority.
  • Once you click a category you will be redirected to a page with all the articles that belong to that category.
  • You can always dislike an article (unvote) and you can only like (vote) once.

Associations are created based on this ERD

image

Demo Link

Hosted on Heroku

Link to Code

Repo on Github

How I built it

  • Ruby v2.7.0
  • Ruby on Rails v6.0
  • CSS Flexbox
  • DigitalOcean

Additional Thoughts / Feelings / Stories

It has been a good experience, and I'm more than happy to have taken the decision to switch to a software developer career.

During this program, I have built more than 16 projects and registered 429 hours so far of pair programming and coding challenges.

You can review all my projects on Github

I have met a lot of inspiring people, from recent college graduates to industry veterans that are switching careers in order to pursue their dreams. Including social entrepreneurs that want to get some experience in coding so they can help better their team and their local communities.

I'm still at a few months to graduate but I'm confident that I'll succeed in making the career switch from industrial engineering to software development.

If you read until here, thank you so much for your time! :)

Top comments (0)