DEV Community

Imagineee
Imagineee

Posted on • Updated on

Rust for "poor devs"

SO, basically I stumbled upon this.

I was quite inspired by it and decide to take a deep dive my self.

I went to the rust playground, opened dev tools, click the network tab and clicked the run button on the page. A fetch request popped up.
rust playground network request
So, I just right clicked it, copy>copy as node.js fetch.

Opened a node js project in vs code, imported node fetch and pasted the request.

Then added some command line arguments and tinkered with the fetch and boom!

Added a watch system and a system to take inputs as the playground couldn't take std inputs.

And there you have it, QuickRust, a rust compiler (interpreter) for places where the rust compiler can't go.

If you have any suggestions or want to contribute, open a issue or a pull request.

I have plans for other compiled languages in the future like Kotlin and Go.

Top comments (0)