DEV Community

Cover image for Why I Took a Dip in Programming
Jobert Manosca
Jobert Manosca

Posted on

Why I Took a Dip in Programming

I've always had an interest in the sciences and technology ever since I was but a wee lad, thus I put my efforts towards becoming an engineer. This is what my parents recommended after all, so I went for it. I can't speak for all the youngsters out there but when I was like 10 years-old I treated my parents' words as absolute. "Get a good job and make lots of money!", they said as if saying to have lots of money is to be successful. What does it mean to be successful anyway? Well the answer to that question should be addressed some other time. Right now I'll just talk about how I came to the decision to become a programmer.

My Post-Secondary Switch
When I got accepted into a university to study Electrical Engineering I was ecstatic but after a year I began to doubt myself. "Am I really doing the right thing?" was a question that lingered in the back of my head every single day. I was also struggling with the fact that a lot of money went into this program for me to study and I didn't want to look like a quitter to my friends and family. It was around this time that I came across a YouTuber by the name of TheTolhe and this person changed my life. Through watching his videos I learned that he is a game developer and during his free time he would make videos for YouTube. I kid you not I wanted to live Tolhe's life so bad since gaming had always been something I was passionate about. This was the little push I required to just do what I truly wanted and pursue a career in programming video games.

Bearing Bad News
Luckily for me, when I told my family they were very supportive of my decision and I actually felt so silly for thinking the worst. I thought that my relationship with my parents would take a serious hit but instead they were willing to help me regardless of the journey I decided to take since all they really cared about is my happiness. Shortly after I told everyone how I felt about my studies, I applied for a game development program at Humber College to begin walking a long road towards becoming a game programmer.

Let's Wrap it up
And there you have it, folks! My long winded story of how I decided to become a programmer. A major milestone decision based solely on a "childish" desire to make games for people. Between working, studying, gaming, and anime, I can't really find the time to watch Tolhe's channel. Though I haven't been watching much of Tolhe these days, I will always bring him up when asked about why I decided to become a programmer. If you made it this far, thank you for taking the time to read this.

Top comments (0)