DEV Community

Cover image for My Little Coding Journey and Lessons I've Learnt So Far
Joshua Chinwendu
Joshua Chinwendu

Posted on

My Little Coding Journey and Lessons I've Learnt So Far

My first introduction to computer programming was during my second year in the university in 2016. The language was C++. Prior to that, I have always had a passion for computers and everything tech related. In fact, it was that passion and desire that led me into studying electrical engineering. I have always dreamt of writing software programs that will not just automate electrical equipment but improve and provide sustainable electricity. It was a requirement that every electrical engineering student to know the basics of programming. To that effect, I was ready to explore the world of programming.
However, my zeal was cut short with the approach of the teaching. Notwithstanding, I was able to write my first "Hello, World". Yes!
The theories taught were geared towards passing the test and exams. Which I eventually passed but deep down in me, I needed something more practical. The reality did not align with the expectation but I refused to drop my fishing net but to deep dive into the ocean to explore myself. I was determined to get it right.
Determined to know more about programming, I started searching online for the best programming language. That alone brought a lot more confusion than I had expected as the search came up with tonnes of results.

Let’s start somewhere, Python!

Finally, I decided to start off with Python because of its simpler syntax and rapid growth. So I signed up for a few beginner courses on Udemy and learnt some fundamentals of programming. However, most of those initial lessons were really just following a video tutorial line by line, and not really understanding what I was doing. A bit of monkey see monkey do. But it grew on me, slowly. It’s like learning a new (spoken) language. In the process, I learnt to ask better questions.

Let’s Checkout Javascript

As I continue with the programming, I saw myself making some progress. Though the progress was little at the time, they have added up to be massive. No wonder they say that the journey of a thousand miles begins with a step. Then in 2019, I joined the DevC program. A program that was powered by Andela and Facebook to nurture young talents. In the program, we were introduced to JavaScript, Express js, Angular js and Node js. This time, I started brushing my skills as I came to see more opportunities in it.

Discovering Django

Later on, I decided to try my hands on backend web development using the Django Python framework. I cloned and recreated some nice REST APIs online. This I will say was so interesting to do.

What I have learnt so far

So far so good, I have learnt a lot but I am still pushing. I have also discovered some things that may be of help to someone that is totally new to the field. Some of them are:

Focus on the Process

Ask intelligent questions

Learn how to research

Connect with other developers

Build something, anything

Set a goal

Be consistent

Push yourself

Top comments (0)