DEV Community

Cover image for Outreachy: Introducing myself with Eclipse Adoptium
<!--Julian-->
<!--Julian-->

Posted on • Updated on

Outreachy: Introducing myself with Eclipse Adoptium

Introducing myself with Eclipse Adoptium

Hi All,
My name is Atuhwera Julian, an opensource evangelist and a junior software engineer with a passion for developing innovative programs that expedite the efficiency and effectiveness of organizational success. I have been in back-end development for 2 years using java and node and am always open to learning new back-end technologies.

I was just chosen as an Outreachy intern for the cohort from December 2022 to March 2023. My mentors are Shelley Lambert, Wen Zhou and Andrew Leonard and I will be collaborating with Eclipse Adoptium community on the project "Software Bill of Materials Refinements (Codename "SmoothBOM")"

It's honestly hard to express how excited I am for this project in just a text. I can't wait for 5th Dec to get started. My goal is to make this project the best it can be

This was my third time applying on outreachy projects since the competition is always stiff and it seemed like a mystery to be selected for any of these projects. I kept pushing and learning new stuff until I finally saw what was a dream come to pass. Am grateful to all mentors who were there to support during the contribution period and all lessons taught. I will forever be grateful. During the contribution period I added on both my technical skills and non-technical skills like communication and proposal writing.

I with honest heart encourage those who have been applying to outreachy and things don't work out, don't give up as yet because winning is for everyone and its part of the process

Top comments (0)