DEV Community

Cover image for Django Dev Journey #5
Jawdat Tayfour
Jawdat Tayfour

Posted on

Django Dev Journey #5

Portfolio Published, The Friends We Made Along The Way..

Finally, my first baby came to life.

I have been studying web development for a while now ..
Got to a place where I can say that I'm Django Developer, Not the best but still a one. I deployed my portfolio a few hours ago on render.
Everything that I used to create this project:

  • Programming Languages: Python, HTML(MarkUp Language), CSS
  • Framework: Django
  • VCS: Git
  • Package Management: Pipenv
  • PostgreSQL
  • render.com
  • And many small packages like WhiteNoise for staticfiles serving, Psycopg Database Adapter and CKeditor...

Don't be fooled by the start of the article, my portfolio definitely isn't my first Django project, but it's the first however to be deployed and fully working and ready to be used.

After reading the books of William S. Vincent about Django, which, taught me a lot about web-development with Django. I came to the conclusion that there is no website that is up and running today with one or two technologies not even 4.

Which is a fantasy that I have to admit that I had before starting with web development. Another thing that I have to admit is that I underestimated the amount of work a front-end developer does in the creation of a fully functioning website.

Other things that I never thought of practically before making this project are the security concerns of launching a website and I said practically, because, of course I thought about the security of my website before and how to prevent any damage and cyber attack to happen, but never thought of exactly HOW can I protect it.

As the saying from my country goes.. Live another day, learn another thing ..
After learning about all of the things I mentioned above, I realized that I really over evaluate myself when I think of how much I know about web development.

But personally, I think that this is the way you go, if I was to discourage myself and put myself down I would have never learned and never earned. I think that you should think of an educational material as easy before you start learning it and confronting its difficulties. And even then, you should talk yourself out of fearing those obstacles and remind yourself that within the right amount of time you can conquer every concept of a matter if you are really willing to put the effort.

And after going through all the storms of ignorance, you'll forget your pain, discover that the tools you learned about are the friends you made along the way and enjoy the sunrays of knowledge.

My Portfolio

Top comments (0)