DEV Community

Cover image for Tabs vs Spaces Divorce: Judge Rules
Serge Matveenko
Serge Matveenko

Posted on

Tabs vs Spaces Divorce: Judge Rules

Judge: "So, Mrs. Doe, please explain why you're seeking a divorce from your spouse, Mr. Doe."

Mrs. Doe: "Your Honor, I never thought I'd say this, but it's because of the tabs!"

Judge: "Tabs? Could you please elaborate?"

Mrs. Doe: "Certainly, Your Honor. We're both software engineers, and I've always been a firm believer in using spaces for indentation in my code. But Mr. Doe, well, he's a tab enthusiast."

Judge: "Ah, I see. And that's a deal-breaker for you?"

Mrs. Doe: "Absolutely, Your Honor. I mean, we've had our differences in the past, like curly braces placement and even semicolon usage, but this tab thing is just too much to handle. It's like trying to decipher hieroglyphics every time I look at his code!"

Judge: "Interesting. And have you attempted to compromise on this matter?"

Mrs. Doe: "Oh, we've tried, Your Honor. We've even attended counseling sessions, but we just can't seem to find a common ground. It's like living in two separate code universes."

Judge: "I can understand the frustration, Mrs. Doe. Code formatting can be a contentious issue. Is there anything else you'd like to add?"

Mrs. Doe: "Only that this divorce isn't just about our personal lives, Your Honor. It's about the future of clean and readable code. I can't let our disagreement over tabs ruin the harmony of my syntax!"

Judge: "Very well, Mrs. Doe. I believe I have a good grasp of the situation. We'll proceed accordingly. And may I suggest, for the sake of your professional sanity, you both consider adopting an agreed-upon code style in future relationships?"

Mrs. Doe: "Thank you, Your Honor. I'll keep that in mind. But for now, I need to move on to someone who understands the importance of proper indentation."

Judge: "Understandable, Mrs. Doe. The court will take your request into consideration. Case adjourned."

Remember, it's just a joke, and code style preferences should never be taken as grounds for a real divorce!

Top comments (0)