DEV Community

kamalpandey
kamalpandey

Posted on

Ruby on Rails

Ruby on rails.

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
swiknaba profile image
Lud • Edited

I'm not a fan of flaming, but the video is definitely not a good start to learn Ruby in Rails, sorry to say so.

A few points of critic:

  • you are using scaffolding with generators, without explanation what's going on
  • voice is barely understandable (too silent, keyboard is too loud, incomplete sentences, that barely say the obvious I can see). Most parts comes without any sound
  • the viewer has to wait many times for your machine to load or execute a command -> strip these parts, or fast forward

In general, it's very confusing, and I don't understand much what's going on nor why the things you are doing work. I have the feeling, you don't understand them yourself yet ;)

What a beginner should expect/see us:

  • why do things work the way you do them?
  • what is roughly (concept!) happening under the hood? (E.g. routing?
  • where do I have to dig deeper? (E.g. controllers -> adding some authentication)
  • what is the general structure of my rails app?
  • what are the gems doing you are adding?

Reading some docs about Rails is more insightful.

Collapse
 
kamalpandey profile image
kamalpandey

Thank you for suggestion I am still learning to improve video quality. If you want to see more recent on rails react do refer here there is depth explanation youtu.be/MfRGdRCLQIY

Collapse
 
swiknaba profile image
Lud

Cool, it is improving, I can see that one has more explanations!