DEV Community

kellihora
kellihora

Posted on

Hi there!

I think introductions are in order.

My name is Kelli and I'm a current student with Flatiron School's software engineering bootcamp.

I was born in Mountain View, CA (cue my jokes about being born ready to be in the tech industry), but was raised in the Chicagoland area where I currently still live with my husband, Ryan, and our dog, Wally, and cat, Julep.

My Pets

I can't say that I always enjoyed the tech industry... in fact, while in college I absolutely hated my programming classes. What are nodes? Why do I have to learn this? This is so hard! These were all the thoughts that I had, while cramming for Actuarial exams that ended up having no meaning in the end.

RAHHH! - GIPHY Clips

GIFs with Sound - Click here to check out more GIPHY Clips

giphy.com

So, why the change? Something I never put together was how involved the tech industry is... What do I mean by that?

The tech industry, and "techies", are here to help with every aspect of life. Love animals? Great! Help animal rescues build responsive websites that can aid them in making sure animals get the help they need. Gamer? Join the vast gaming development industry to build immersive worlds that can enthrall kids and adults alike. Not sure where you quite fit in? That's okay too! Build projects that help make everyday for you better... because, why not?

Love You Hearts GIF by Unpopular Cartoonist - Find & Share on GIPHY

Discover & share this Unpopular Cartoonist GIF with everyone you know. GIPHY is how you search, share, discover, and create GIFs.

favicon giphy.com

There's something for everyone and it really is inspiring to see what people do with their skills. So... that's why I decided to stay in the tech field after getting my first job (as a Junior Software Tester) right out of school.

While it wasn't my initial first choice, it ended up opening my eyes to the world of technology and what it could do for me... and I'm so happy that you're here to watch me grow with it!

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
louiseann93 profile image
Lou Willoughby

Welcome Kelli! Great to hear your story 😊
Looking forward to seeing your journey!
It’s truly a rollercoaster but so worth it and rewarding. I learn new things every day and it always blows my mind πŸ˜…πŸ˜‚