DEV Community

0xkoji
0xkoji

Posted on

4 Aliases I Always Put on .zshrc/.bashrc

I'm using a couple of machines, Mac, Ubuntu, and Raspberry Pis and all of them have at least 3 aliases. In addition, basically, I use zsh since I love oh-my-zsh.

If you are not familiar with alias, this post will be useful.
https://wpshout.com/quick-guides/make-bash-alias/

My .zshrc/.bashrc have followings.

reload

Sometimes I change settings, but I don't want to type source blah blah blah.

alias reload="source ~/.zshrc"
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

h

I use this heavily, especially to check ssh destination lol

alias h="history"
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

cl

Love to keep my iTerm screen clean as much as possible

alias cl="clear"
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

p

Sometimes I do typo like pyhton or pythoo, so this is to run my python scripts smoothly.

alias p="python"
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

I also put aliases for my python virtual env since I'm lazy.
For Ubuntu and Raspberry Pis have open which Mac uses.

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
jonasbn profile image
Jonas Brømsø • Edited

Good post - my aliases are different, but same concept. For optimal history do check out my TIL on slimming history

Collapse
 
0xkoji profile image
0xkoji

Nice!!!!
Thank you for sharing the info.

Collapse
 
programazing profile image
Christopher C. Johnson • Edited
alias update='sudo apt update && sudo apt upgrade -y'
Collapse
 
0xkoji profile image
0xkoji

Oh, I should add that.

Thanks!