DEV Community

Lilly Lametta
Lilly Lametta

Posted on

Babysteps in Coding

I began/continue to code because...

I began to learn how to code in 2016. My exboyfriend introduced me to one of these online games where you can learn and practise code. I started with Python3 and then I began exploring Arduino. I began to develop a tiny tiny game to get more familiar with code.
I recently took a break from coding because of some health issues and private incidents that got in my way.

I'm really interested in IT-security and went to a congress last year where that was one of the main topics.
I think we all should pay more attention to it. It becomes more and more important to protect our privacy and independence regarding the internet and modern technology.

My advice for allies to support women and non-binary folks who code is....

Stay curious and don't lose faith over stupid comments by others.
Mistakes are always a chance to improve and nothing to be ashamed of.
I also encourage you to get in touch with local hackspaces. Because for me it was always relieving to see that others struggle too. Plus, there is always someone to answer your questions.

Keep in mind that coding is not a superpower it's something that I think everyone can learn. Last but not least be kind to yourself if you fail! That is something that I still have to learn.;-P

Happy international Women's Day!

Top comments (0)