DEV Community

Nicole Archambault
Nicole Archambault

Posted on

How long did it take you to get comfortable with the command line?

I'm curious:

Experienced devs:
How long did it take you to get comfortable with the command line?

New devs:
What's the biggest challenge you've faced learning to use the command line versus graphical interfaces?

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
chrisrhymes profile image
C.S. Rhymes

Good question. I think I started with NPM on the command line, then started using git, before learning more Linux commands. Took a few weeks to get used to npm initially but each additional tool built on previous experience so got easier over time

Collapse
 
fardeen9983 profile image
Fardeen Khan

Its pretty easy to get around any interface with a little focus. It's not a humongous task by any means and more than often on certain platforms you feel more at home working on terminals. And developing CLI tools and skipping the hassle to go through UI design saves a lot of time. And command lone tools are powerful indeed when working at lower abstraction level.

Collapse
 
voidjuneau profile image
Juneau Lim

Since I used MS-DOS and Virtual Terminal since I was young, I never felt "uncomfortable" with using command line even though I'm still not good at it.
An unusual case of new dev, I guess. NPM errors still scare me like hell though.