DEV Community

Mandy B
Mandy B

Posted on

Rubber Ducky You're The One

You make coding...make more sense?

While teaching myself how to code, all the videos, blog posts and more say you gotta talk it out. And the best way to do that is with a rubber duck or just anything really. These past few weeks, I've really been speaking my thoughts aloud but not to a duck. And I've got like 100 ducks around here (I drive a Jeep, it comes with the territory). Instead I have a little POP figure, it's Poca, short for Pocahontas. She listens to me answer my own questions or confuse myself even more on the daily. But man I'm glad I've got her.

Take debugging one error at a time

Since I've started working with APIs in my projects, those CORS errors are out in full force. I'm slowly breaking them down by copying them and directly posting them in Google. Because let's be real, every error has occurred at least once and SOMEONE (Lord bless 'em) has asked about it. One thing that helps is being familiar with your browser. Google Chrome is where it's at for me. I tried FireFox Developer Edition. It looks super flashy and shiny and new but Chrome Dev Tools chef's kiss. Both show you exactly what line your error is coming from but sometimes FireFox gives me too much info. I'm just not that advanced YET, so chill FF.

What about you? What do you use as your rubber ducky debugging tool? And your browser of choice? Why?

Top comments (0)