DEV Community

Mandy B
Mandy B

Posted on

Coding podcasts and music!

Are you an animal who codes in silence?

I have searched and reached all realms of Spotify and YouTube looking for the best coding playlists and podcasts. I can't work (especially not code lol) in silence.

I found that while I'm doing my normal day to day job, Today's Top Hits on Spotify works but I lean more towards The Fantasy Footballers Podcast or my new favorite Front End Happy Hour.

Tell me more about the Front End Happy Hour Podcast

Man oh woman. It is fun, it's a bunch of engineers from Netflix, Twitch and Atlassian who get together over drinks to discuss not only new tech stacks but the interview process, work culture and more. They bring in guests from other tech companies like LinkedIn on the show as well. I don't want to give away the best part of the show, but when they set it up and you listen through a whole show it's pretty fun. :)

What about those playlists?

When I code, I don't want any music with words. I'm a huge fan of LoFi Girl and Code Pioneers on Youtube. Both are super chill with fantastic animations. I could watch a Code Pioneer "Midnight Coding Sesh" on YouTube all day lol. :)

Spotify has some good ones too but right now I've been listening to developer_focus()-concentration | programming | coding. Very chill but kinda trippy. I get lost in the sauce and find myself in my office working on my web app for 3 hours before I even realize it.

What about you all? What do you listen to? Do you like 90s Country while you code? No judgment here. You do you! Just curious what others out there are listening to while they code/study/work.

Happy Hump Day everyone!

Top comments (0)