DEV Community

Leyang Yu
Leyang Yu

Posted on

My first post on OSD

Introduction

Hello, my name is Leyang and I'm a student in the Computer Programming and Analysis Program at Seneca College. I'm so excited to be taking a course on open source development in my last semester! During my time at Seneca and at my co-op, I have used many open source projects in creating my own projects and they have made my life so much easier. I hope to learn how I can also make contributions to this community, discover some cool new projects, and improve my ability to understand code written by many different people by working on open source projects.

Where I Am

I am from and am currently based in Toronto, Canada. However, I look forward to working with people from all over the world through various open source projects.

What I Hope To Learn

Over the semester, I hope to work on all sorts of projects in many different languages. Currently, I am most comfortable with working on web apps using JavaScript and C#. However, I hope to be able to broaden my horizons and gain more experience using languages I have less experience in such as Python. I love games and would love to work on some gaming projects or projects that I would use in the future.

Open Source Project

After researching some trending open source projects, the one I chose to fork to my own repo is 30 Days of Python. As a beginner to Python, I think this project would be a very useful tool to help people like me learn the basics.

Thanks for reading!

GitHub
LinkedIn

Top comments (0)