DEV Community

Cover image for Where do you promote your products/apps?
Madza
Madza

Posted on

Where do you promote your products/apps?

When you have put a lot of time and effort into developing your app, the last thing you want to do is thrown it all away by not promoting it properly. As Gary Vaynerchuk has said:

“What you do after you create your content is what truly counts.”

Where do you normally promote your apps and which methods have turned out to be the most effective for you?

Some of the first ones that come to my mind would be: ProductHunt, Twitter, Reddit, Facebook, DEV listings, blog posts, email lists, etc.

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
dansilcox profile image
Dan Silcox

I don’t normally - mostly just the fun of writing new projects and the learning I get out of it for me, rather than wanting to sell it or whatever! Maybe I’m just weird like that lol... also a bit of perfectionism / ‘it’s not good enough for customers’ feeling!

Collapse
 
jcubic profile image
Jakub T. Jankiewicz

Best is own website + dedicated blog + SEO. I've got most visitors from search engines. I have a draft of article on Dev.to about SEO for Open Source projects. Partially related, if you only have project on GitHub and it's Open Source.

Collapse
 
yo profile image
Yogi

Betapage, Betalist and Hackernews too

Collapse
 
winstonpuckett profile image
Winston Puckett

Facebook. It's not great. It did help me get a job though when I walked in and had a working app running on phones in places around the world.