DEV Community

Marifer Villarroel
Marifer Villarroel

Posted on

Nevertheless, Marifer Coded

Hello everyone!, my name is Marifer and I'm a woman in technology.

First of all I want to apologize for any mistake you may find in my spelling, my native language is Spanish and I'm still working to improve my English, but I didn't want to let this stop me from participating in #shecoded.

I began to code...

I'll tell you a little summary about how I got into the world of programming.

My journey began in the way least expected for me. When I was 13 years old I had decided that I wanted to dedicate myself to UX design because I have always liked drawing and painting a lot.

So I immersed myself in studying UX design on my own with the idea of learning how to create web and mobile projects. While studying UX design I discovered frontend development, that's when I fell in love with programming, it caught my attention so much that I started to learn with a lot of enthusiasm HTML and CSS, then with the idea of continuing to grow I wanted to learn more and discover other technologies both on the client side and on the server side.

I continued to code in 2019 because...

I am currently 19 years old, a full stack web developer (using mostly JavaScript) and a computer science student with the goal of becoming a software engineer.

Since I started my journey in programming I have learned lessons and experiences that have helped me grow both personally and professionally. Working to be better day by day and that is seen in the results motivates me to continue with much more strength and security.

I keep coding because solving problems and creating things that make a positive impact through code is what I really love. I still have a lot to learn, but I am working hard.

My advice for other women who code is...

I think it all starts with the person, you should love yourself and support yourself throughout your journey.

Many times I thought that I had made a mistake in choosing my field and that I could never be a good programmer. These thoughts come from the lack of confidence I had in myself, I was acting like my own bully, until one day I said if I didn't trust myself, then who will?

Although it can be very difficult at times, it can even seem frustrating, don't beat yourself up! Be proud of yourself for everything you've done so far, for the journey you've taken, for everything you've already learned, rather than focusing on everything you still need.

Because when you focus on the positive, you attract positive energies for more accomplishments into your life, but when you focus on what is still missing you feel frustrated and focus on the difficulties, which makes it impossible for you to see all the things you have already accomplished.

So despite the difficulties you may encounter along the way, don't give up and love yourself because you are your best friend for your journey.

Top comments (0)