DEV Community

Mariatta
Mariatta

Posted on

Nevertheless, Mariatta Coded

I began to code because...

I played video games as a child, as I grew up I became curious and interested to learn how to write programs for video games. I started by learning BASIC programming in junior high school. And then I learned HTML by myself. I then pursued a Computer Science degree, learned several languages like Java and C#.

I continue to code because...

Feels like programming and coding is the only life I ever known. I keep finding new problems to tackle, and I keep learning new things. The more I learn, the more I realize how much I don't know. But that's ok. Never stop learning.

I recently overcame...

A depressive episode. Somehow I got through it and starting to see the positive side in things again. I know it won't be the last time..

I want to brag about...

My name appears at the end credit of Spider-man Homecoming movie! ... also at the end of The Emoji Movie.

Having spoken at various conferences around the world, I can now legit call myself an international public speaker.

My friend Dan wrote a Python book, and invited me to write the foreword. I think that's pretty cool!

I'm currently hacking on...

I'm learning GraphQL for work. It's powerful but I haven't fully wrap my head around it yet.

I also want to build more GitHub bots. I have a lot of fun learning and building the bots for CPython. I've started chatting with another open source maintainer about building bots for his open source projects.

I'm trying to contribute to Warehouse, the new PyPI website. I just made a new pull request last night, but I broke the tests. So I'll need to come back to it.

I look up to...

Friends and mentors I've met in the Python and PyLadies community. The community has been very supportive. Through their actions, they showed me what Positive Python really means. I don't think I'll be where I am now without their continuous support.

I'm excited about...

PyCon! Can't wait to connect with other Pythonistas. This time will be quite different as in addition to giving a talk, I'll also be giving a tutorial.

Top comments (0)