DEV Community

Michael Brackett
Michael Brackett

Posted on

Release 4.0 Final

Finally, I am done with my final pull request which you can find here.

This was a very hard bug to work with as I've never worked with an electron app before and I've also never worked with vue before. But it was pretty educational, and it gave me that good feeling I was looking for after fixing it.

Starting off from my last blog, I was correct in my finding that the code was never actually running because of the if statement, doing some more research throughout the code I actually found that the value that they were checking "this.descriptionHtml" was actually always going to be null because it was never set to anything in the first place. Once I fixed that I could use console.logs to test if I was getting into the function or not (Good ole trusty print statements). It found that weirdly enough I was getting into the function but nothing in the description was changing. This was because I needed to add another line that changed the static text of the description to include all the proper linkers and tags in it, like if there is a link add a tag around it and make a href for it.

Luckily that was fairly easy as there was a package that they used to do so, now comes the more difficult part, figuring out why exactly the program wasn't actually changing the description href. Well the short answer was that the old regex from a past contributor actually was wrong, and I guess he never knew that it was wrong because he could never test it properly because the function would never run properly.

After fixing the regex (which took me a while to find the proper regex for it) and replacing it with the proper link I finished the bug.

This bug took me probably the longest so far in the class totalling at around 3-4 hours. But let me tell you, the hardest, longest, and most confusing bugs are always the ones that feel the best once you fix them.

In addition this was actually the first bug that I fixed throughout OSD600 so it was cool working on someone else's broken code and trying to fix it up.

Well that's all for me this semester, I had a incredible time working with all of you and I wish you the best in the new semester.

And to my teacher, thank you for teaching this course. I really liked every aspect of this course (especially Hacktoberfest) and you really were supportive to students that needed the help. I'm looking forward to working with you in OSD700 next semester!

Now all I have to do is just wait for my pull requests to be merged.

Top comments (0)