DEV Community

Nicholas Clark
Nicholas Clark

Posted on

Poker in Place

What I built

I built an integrated video+poker web-app to allow for hosting of home games while we're socially distancing. It currently support cash-game (not real money) modes of no-limit Texas hold-em. Check out the links below to watch a video or play yourself!

Category Submission: Exciting X-Factors

Demo Link

https://pokerinplace.app
https://www.producthunt.com/posts/poker-in-place

Link to Code

https://github.com/nbclark/poker-in-place

How I built it (what's the stack? did I run into issues or discover something new along the way?)

I started this in early April after adding WebRTC into an iPad board game I had built. I jump-started the project by borrowing plenty of the Twilio/React sample project. I then worked on building a table layout, writing the game flow engine (betting/folding/raising). Once the engine was more or less working, I pushed the engine evaluation to firebase functions (to be able to secure player cards and prevent cheating). I then integrated the video into the table layout so you could play and talk/see each other at the same time.

The stack used is roughly: React, Firebase (storage, hosting, functions), Twilio (video), Stripe (payments), Sentry (error tracking).

I opened this game up to the public a week ago. Currently sitting at about 3000 players. It's currently free, but Twilio video costs are shockingly high that I will be adding in a paywall soon.

Additional Resources/Info

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
prabhatpankaj profile image
prabhat pankaj

Hi I am learning poker game development .
And this is exactly I was planning .

Unfortunately I couldn't see the code .

Seems code has been removed
github.com/nbclark/poker-in-place

Some comments may only be visible to logged-in visitors. Sign in to view all comments.