DEV Community

Nour Ghalyoun
Nour Ghalyoun

Posted on

Intersection on Word Association

Bash [bash]

Verb:

  • To strike with a crushing or smashing blow.
  • To hurl harsh verbal abuse at.

This was the first time I've ever heard the term bash command.

My initial instinct was to reminisce on my university days when I felt like bashing my head against the table after running a four hour organic chemistry lab and couldn't understand why my distillation wasn't running correct. Or why my percent error was over 200%. Or why when trying to print my lab report at the library someone had sent the printer to poster size and didn't revert it.

All in all, I realized that frustration wasn't what the interfacing program was asking me to experience.

I've come to learn that bash has another context that isn't listed by dictionary.com which to me appears to be a 100% error. However, Codecademy provides an excellent definition.

A shell is a computer program that allows you to directly control a computer’s operating system (OS) with a graphical user interface (GUI) or command-line interface (CLI).

Bash, to someone who hasn't run a single line of code before yesterday, acts as a multitasking assistant that knows where everything is in your office. It runs simple or complicated scripts, can operate using less-resources, and overall can edit or create text files with ease.

All together, bash command is almost the exact opposite of what I thought it was.

Top comments (0)