DEV Community

Cover image for MY LIFE AS A NEW HNG SEASON 8 INTERN.
Andrew James Okpainmo
Andrew James Okpainmo

Posted on • Updated on

MY LIFE AS A NEW HNG SEASON 8 INTERN.

My life as an intern first began only few days ago, thanks to the
HNG internship – season 8. The experience feels great as the days go by. Although the process is not without the fears of what to expect, I really want to admit that I am enjoying the journey so far.

Internship is a common trend in the professional world. In tech, internship is almost an inevitable fate - whether it is a paid one or not. It is this fate that has caught up with me and the other thousands of people that have enrolled in the ongoing season 8 of the HNG internship.

About the HNG internship

The HNG internship, is an awesome, challenging and competitive non-paid remote internship that is organized by a Nigerian Agency called Hotels.ng. As much as I know, The internship is co-supported by Zuri and Ingressive for good (I4G). The internship supports different skill tracks like Backend web development, frontend web development, Mobile development, UI/UX designing, and more. My track is frontend web development.

I have been into frontend web development for some years now. My coding dream is to someday become a professional full stack software developer and a versatile world class programmer. I have gained some considerable skills over the years in frontend web development, and My current stack is HTML, CSS, SASS, Bootstrap, Jquery and Vanilla Javascript. I started a React.Js course some weeks ago, and I also use Gulp.Js when building websites.

In case you are new to web development, all the tools I listed above are front end web development tools/skills that are used in building websites. And if you really want to become a front end web developer, below are a number of relevant beginner courses that will help you on that journey.

1. A Figma Tutorial

Figma is a tool for building web interfaces.
It is important for every web developer to at least, get a basic knowledge of how to use Figma to design web interfaces - even if you are not a UI/UX designer. Knowledge of it will help you work with designs done by UI/UX designers. So go ahead and find as much help in this Figma tutorial.

2. A Git and Github Tutorial

Git is a version control system (VCS). It is used in web development to help developers keep track of their work at different stages of building a project. I believe Git is a tool that every web developer “must” know how to use. This Git and Github tutorial will help you get your hands on Git, and Github too.

3. HTML Tutorial.

HTML stands for HyperText MarkUp Language. It is the main building block of front end websites. Learning HTML, is really the beginning of your front end web developer journey. Let this beginner friendly HTML tutorial help you out.

4. A Javascript Tutorial.

After building websites with HTML and styling them, Javascript is a programming language that is used to add dynamism to websites. Javascript, is another “must” tool for every front end web developer. It is even referred to as the programming language of the web. This tutorial will help you get you hands on Javascript.

Now back to the main business.

It is in a bid to become a better skilled and qualified frontend web developer that I enrolled in this season of the HNG internship. I hope to further strengthen my frontend web development skills before i proceed into backend web development.
The first task for my track (frontend web development) was given just yesterday. Writing this article is one out of other demands of the task.

My goals for this internship.

Life as an intern has so far been very interesting. My goals for this internship are clear and direct. Some may be tough and really demanding, But I am determined to follow through until I achieve everyone of them. By the end of 8 week,

  1. I hope to have connected as much as possible with other passionate and like minded interns. I hope to join as many important tech circles as possible.

  2. As an intern with some considerable knowledge of frontend web development knowledge, I hope to help other interns who do not know as much. I hope to help out and make as much impact as possible in this season of the HNG internship.

  3. I plan to learn alot. I really intend to learn so much from this internship. After all that is one of the primary reasons for my enrolling in this internship – to learn and become a better frontend web developer.

  4. I plan to follow up on every task with as much passion and disciplined effort as i can possibly put in. I hope to build a lot – to build and work on every project with so much passion.

  5. Finally, I hope to join the final ones that will make it into the HNG internship season 8 finals – i hope to emerge as one of the finalist. In fact, I hope to emerge as the best intern in my track and also to win as much available awards as possible.

Life as a HNG intern so far has been good. The first task is not a tough one. I pray I will be able to handle all the remaining tasks in this internship as good as I am handling this first one. I pray to achieve all my set out goals by the end of this internship as well.

So go ahead and wish me good luck in the comments area.

Thanks for reading and CHEERS!!!

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
danbmky profile image
Dan Bamikiya

Cheering you on 🎉
A question I have is you said the internship is 'unpaid' but the link 🔗 to the internship says it pays it's interns weekly so which is true?

Collapse
 
okpainmo profile image
Andrew James Okpainmo • Edited

Its trully unpaid sir, maybe it becomes a paid internship at higher levels. For now, we are in level four and there's nothing like a weekly pay yet.
I must however mention that there are some give away packages for certain things like hard work, completing a special task, or completing a time task before others - the give aways are generally like prize money for now. Not any weekly pay.
I must also mention that this season of the internship involves different organizations(Hotels.ng, Zuri, and Ingressive For Good) that might run their own unique paid internship all by their self. But this joint Hng season 8 internship until now is unpaid.
Thanks for your comment Dan.

Collapse
 
danbmky profile image
Dan Bamikiya

Oh, that's sad. Thanks for clearing that up. Your welcome!