DEV Community

Paramanantham Harrison
Paramanantham Harrison

Posted on

How do you teach coding for complete beginners especially kids?

  • What will be your technique to teach complete beginners?
  • How do you introduce programming to them without overwhelming with information?
  • Show any examples of teaching to kids if you know it already?

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
lmolivera profile image
Lucas Olivera

I think the best way of introducing children to programming is with Scratch, a drag & drop, object oriented... language? I used it when I was 9 and understood computer logic thanks to it. I think that is the most important skill you need to learn how to program, so Scratch is excellent for complete newcomers.

After that maybe you should try teaching Python and MySQL.I consider them very easy to understand. Another suggestion could be "The Manga Guide to databases", which explains relational databases with a simple, comic-like book.

Collapse
 
learnwithparam profile image
Paramanantham Harrison

I will check out scratch and manga books. Thanks for your valuable suggestions.

  • Can scratch be used as a tool for teaching a classroom?
  • Do they have curriculum?

(Meanwhile, I will also go through the site like you provided)

Collapse
 
lmolivera profile image
Lucas Olivera

Actually some schools in my country use Scratch to teach kids programming. The thing is I don't know if there is a curriculum, but you can refer to some sample projects Scratch has to start from there.