DEV Community

Marco Pasqua
Marco Pasqua

Posted on

First Pull Request of Hacktoberfest

Hi everyone, this year I'm participating in Hacktoberfest for the first time. Last week, I made my first contribution to it. It was a really simple PR that I had to make, and was a great start to Hacktoberfest. I'll first talk about how I was finding issues related to the event.

Searching for Hacktoberfest Related Issues

I search for issues related to Hacktober fest by typing this line into the Github search bar label:hacktoberfest state:open. So this way I can find any Hacktober fest related issues that may not be assigned to anyone yet.

At first, I did have a hard time looking for issues, as I was coming across repos for just algorithm implementation and adding your name to a README file. However, I did eventually find this repo called HeadX. They had a really simple issue created for someone to do, which was adding a table of contents to their README. I saw this as a decent way to start off Hacktoberfest, as I can work my way up from simple to more complex issues.

Working on the Issue

Working on the issue was really simple. I first read through the CONTRIBUTING.md file they created for people like me. Then I asked for it to be assigned to me. After it was, I got to work. I forked the repo, cloned it to my PC and created a branch for the issue. To make a table of contents in Markdown, I had to create a list like the example below

Table of Contents
1. [Install](#Install)
2. [Usage](#Usage)
3. [Features](#Feature)
 - [Feature 1](#Feature-1)
 - [Feature 2](#Feature-2)
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

and so on. I did first have to look this up, as I wasn't 100% sure how to link a piece of text to a header in Markdown. However, turns out it's just like how to make a URL clickable in Markdown. Once I was done, I looked at a preview of the README file that my IDE offered me and was happy with the way it turned out. Then I created the Pull Request for it. The repo owner was happy with my work and decided to merge it into the main branch.

Conclusion

While this was a more simple PR to make for Hacktober, I wanted to start of small and work my way up into bigger more complex issues. So for now, that's one PR down, with three more to go. I'm looking forward to what other repos I can find and how I can work on something more complex. Thanks for reading and catch you in the next post!

Top comments (0)